Trio Share Nobel Prize in Chemistry

Events in the year: Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2013

Science & Space

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry has been awarded to three scientists for “the development of multi-scale models for complex chemical systems,” the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences announced Wednesday.

Martin Karplus of Harvard, Michael Levitt of Stanford and Arieh Warshel of the University of Southern California will share the 8 million Swedish Krona ($1.2 million) prize.

“Chemists used to create models of molecules using plastic balls and sticks. Today, the modelling is carried out in computers,” the Royal Swedish Academy said in its announcement. The three scientists “laid the foundation for the powerful programs that are used to understand and predict chemical processes. Computer models mirroring real life have become crucial for most advances made in chemistry today.”



[time-brightcove videoid=2731327208001]

View original post


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s